Edwards leaves position as Queen of Diamonds II Jet Dragster pilot

By Anthony Caruso III | Publisher

Sarah Edwards has resigned her position on Monday night as the Queen of Diamonds II Jet Dragster pilot. Hanna Motorsports will now be in search for their next Queen of Diamonds driver.

While racing at Bristol Dragway in Bristol, Tennessee, Edwards was involved in an accident while racing at the Beef ‘O’ Brady’s Thunder Valley Mayhem event, as part of the Bristol Chevy Show. She said she was fine after the wreck.

“No,” Edwards said after being asked if her decision was due in part of the crash. “Not directly.”

Edwards first fell in love with the Queen of Diamonds at 12-years-old at Old Bridge Township Raceway Park. Her father Scott heard a radio ad and decided to take his young daughter to Englishtown, New Jersey.

The Connecticut native went to the Night of Thrills at the track in July and that changed the course of what she wanted to do with her life.

Queen of Diamonds II Jet Dragster pilot Sarah Edwards at the Dodge NHRA Nationals
Sarah Edwards at the Dodge NHRA Nationals (Photo by Scott Edwards, her father)

After high school in 2010, she attended the Frank Hawley’s Drag Racing School to earn an NHRA Super Comp license at 18-years-old. It was Ken Hall, her former teammate, who brought her name up to Al Hanna when the team was looking for a new Queen of Diamonds driver several years ago.

“From the fall of 2015 until today, I took on a journey that was more than any twelve-year-old girl could have ever dreamed of,” Edwards said in a press release. “Becoming the queen beneath the helmet and driving the Queen of Diamonds II 300 mph Jet Dragster for Al Hanna has been an incredible honor and privilege. Together, each weekend, the QOD and I traveled to a new city, state, and track that I had never been to. For me, there was more to just driving this iconic race car. Not only was I given the opportunity to drive the race car I saw when I was twelve, but I got to work for the best Jet team in the country, a team that strives for safety and success

“I was also fortunate to embrace these new experiences with my family by my side, making memories that will last a lifetime. However, the greatest joy came when I got to meet each and every single one of you out at the races. Together, or individually, all of you have impacted me and have given me the greatest memories. I am forever grateful for your constant support, love, and positive energy through the years.

Edwards would still like to be involved in Motorsports. Her family still has the Queen Bee Racing team.

“Moving forward, I will no longer be driving for Hanna Motorsports,” she said. “Thank you to Al and Ellen Hanna for giving me the chance of a lifetime, as well as my teammates Rich [Hanna] and Ken [Hall]. Most importantly, a big thank you to each crew guy, who has hopped on this crazy train with us — whether it was tightening my belts or loading up the trailer, your hard work was always appreciated.”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.